Drivers in Long Beach are required to follow California state motor vehicle
laws in order to earn and maintain a driver’s license – many
of which dictate how a driver is to act in the event of a collision. Following
a crash, drivers are required to render aid, exchange personal and insurance
information with the other involved parties, and stay at the scene of
the crash until a police officer clears them to leave. Failing to fulfill
these duties or fleeing the scene of a collision is a criminal offense
known as a “hit and run” and can carry serious penalties upon conviction.
Accidents Involving Injury
In California, hit and run situations involving crashes that resulted in
injury to another party are known as “wobblers,” or an offense
that can be charged as either a misdemeanor or a felony. How a person
is charged will mainly depend on the severity of injuries to the injured
parties and a defendant’s criminal record. If charged as a misdemeanor,
penalties can include up to one year in jail and fines up to $10,000.
If charged as a felony, a conviction can carry up to three years in jail
and fines up to $10,000.
Fatal Traffic Accidents
Like accidents involving injury, a hit and run that causes serious injury
or death to another person can be charged as a wobbler, though the associated
penalties are more severe. A misdemeanor hit and run involving serious
injury or death can carry a minimum 90 day jail sentence extendable up
to one year along with up to $10,000 in fines. A felony conviction, on
the other hand, can bring up to four years in prison, fines up to $10,000, or both.
Any driver that is involved in a hit and run accident should hire a powerful
criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible to build a powerful defense
and minimize their chances of conviction. At the Law Office of Leonard
Long Beach criminal defense attorney has successfully defended hundreds of clients over more than 30 years
of legal practice and can provide the high-caliber defense you need to
maximize your chances of securing a favorable outcome for your situation.
To get started towards building your defense,
schedule a free case evaluation or call (562) 375-4834 today.